Why Would I Make a Youtube Channel if I Probably Won’t Make Money?

As a Guy Who Makes $0 on Youtube … For now

WhyLearn Tech
4 min readOct 27, 2023
Photo by Christian Wiediger on Unsplash

It has been dubbed “The New American Dream”. Many people start a Youtube Channel with the goal of making millions, working wherever you want, becoming famous, and much more. Names like Mr. Beast, Gary V, and many others have been able to build incredible careers leveraging Youtube and its audience.

Me, in my excessive wisdom and knowledge, will not be making a Youtube for these reasons. Statistically, it is very difficult to make a living on Youtube. To start off, you need 1000 subscribers and over 4000 watch hours in order to even quality for their partner program. Big numbers! And after that, you need to continually make content in order to stay relevant and grow your following. If you’re lucky, you might start to see significant money as you get into 5 to 6-figure subscription amounts.

I plan on publishing my first few videos on youtube later this year in 2023. Here are the 5 things I hope to gain from making a Youtube Channel in 2023.

Communication and Public Speaking

I believe communication and public speaking skills are incredibly important nowadays in the age of a lot of content. You need to be concise, be able to present ideas, and…

--

--

WhyLearn Tech

Software Developer with interest in new tech, education, and writing. My goal is to connect with other developers and bring more people into the tech field.